2012 DSP Achievement Award Recipients


Standardization Achievement Award Winner

Army Team (Weapons and Materials Research Directorate, U.S. Army Research Laboratory (ARL)) -- Developed three stringent specifications incorporating new, high-performing composite armor materials for use on armored vehicles and platforms Team members honored include: Richard Squillacioti and Brian Scott

  • Army Team (U.S. Army Research Laboratory) -- Developed, validated, and implemented (through 10 specifications) a suite of superior coating products, for use on all DoD tactical equipment, that enhance durability and are environmentally friendly Team members honored include: Fred Lafferman, John Escarsega, Bernard Hart, William Lum, and Daniel Pope

  • Thomas Kozlowski (Packaging, Storage, and Containerization Center, U.S. Army Materiel Command, Logistics Support Activity) -- Improved and harmonized the retrograde processes used by NATO nations supporting coalition operations

  • Navy-led Team (Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR); Army Aviation and Missile Research, Development and Engineering Center; and CRL Technologies, Inc.) -- Developed the technical standard for an open architecture initiative—Future Airborne Capability Environment—to establish a common operating environment that can support portable software components across multiple DoD aviation platforms Team members honored include: Robert Matthews, Robert Sweeney, Scott Dennis, Marcell Padilla, and Deborah Mooradian

  • Air Force Team (Air Force Petroleum Agency (AFPA), Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), and Air Force Life Cycle Management Center (AFLCMC)) -- Determined that the concentration of Fuel System Icing Inhibitor (FSII) in JP-8 aviation fuel could be lowered 32 percent without affecting airworthiness, but significantly reducing procurement costs and the number of incidents of fuel tank topcoat peeling (caused by FSII) Team members honored include: Cheryl McCormick, Benet Curtis, Thomas Burris, Dr. Donald Phelps, and Capt Daniel DeVirgilio

  • DLA Team (Defense Logistics Agency Land and Maritime) -- Developed two new families of military specifications and one new family of non-government standards, which represent a major infusion of new spherical technology into the mechanical connector stock class, Federal Supply Class 4730 Team members honored include: Earnest Brown, Maurice Womack, William Carpenter, and Mitchell Ranck