Achievement Awards



Since 1987, the Defense Standardization Program Office (DSPO) has honored individuals and organizations of the military departments and defense agencies who achieved, during the prior fiscal year, significant improvements in interoperability, cost reduction, quality, reliability, and readiness through standardization.


The nomination guidelines have changed over the years to emphasize specific programs or to recognize those who best implement new policy initiatives. For example, the 1990 awards recognized special achievements in acquisition streamlining, while later in that decade awards honored those who best implemented military specification reform objectives. In fiscal year 2000, a "Distinguished Achievement" award was added. Collectively, over the years, DSP award recipients have brought about operational improvements, enhanced safety for DoD personnel around the world, and avoided billions of dollars in costs.

Nomination Information

The DSP Achievement Awards call for nominations is sent to Departmental Standardization Executives and Standardization Officers in early September each year.  Each Military Department and Defense Agency is invited to submit their top five nominations.  Only nominations submitted through respective Standardization Executives or Departmental Standardization Officers will be accepted by the DSPO.  Nominations can be for individual or team achievement, and should demonstrate the development or documentation of standard interfaces leading to improved standardization objectives among the Military Departments, the DoD, or with our allies.


DoD civilian and military personnel are considered eligible for an award. All nominees must meet the requirements set forth in DODI 1400.25, sub-chapter 451.

Previous Award Recipients

For a list of previous recipients, please see below. Awards are grouped by submission year.



2021 2020 2019 2018 2017
2016 2015 2014 2013 2012
2011 2010 2009 2008 2007
2006 2005 2004 2003 2002
2001 2000 1999 1998 1997
1996 1995 1994 1993 1992
1991 1990 1989 1988 1987