2020 DSP Achievement Award Recipients


Distinguished Achievement Award Winner

Development of DoD Configuration Management Portfolio with MIL-HDBK-61B

The CM Integrated Product Team (IPT) and Steering Committee developed and actively managed the government and international standards committee with the creation of a new CM portfolio. The latest player within the CM portfolio is the updated government MIL- HDBK61B, replacing the old MIL-HDBK-61A handbook. This new handbook serves as a pointer to the various CM documents within the portfolio to cover DoD activities.

To provide a coordinated government response to the development of this CM portfolio, a cross-functional committee was set up in partnership with the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD) umbrella.

The original effort was spearheaded by the USAF and eventually transferred to the US Navy to complete development and release of the MIL-HDBK-61B. Designated team members from OSD, USAF, US Army, USMC, and US Navy held several on-site meetings and telecons to develop the final document over a three-year period.

CM is the first broad process portfolio that has successfully completed this type of transfer, resulting in $4.5M/year in Reduced Total Ownership Costs (RTOC) across the DoD umbrella. Other efficiencies include faster product development speed and quality improvements.

Team members honored include: Patty Fenwick, Bob Flagg, Daniel Christensen, Tom Schneider and Bruce Burnside

Standardization Achievement Award Winners

  • Miniature Microminiature (2M)/Module Test and Repair (MTR) Program; U.S. Navy Sea Systems Command Team members honored include: Michael Bruzan, Scott Doherty, Dennis Blair, John Preston, Brett Estes

  • Development of Military Specification covering Bulk Metal Foil Chip Resistors for Established Reliability and Space Level (MIL-PRF-32663); Defense Logistics Agency. 

The project started with a request made during the May 2012 SAE CE-11 committee meeting. Committee members expressed a desire to have bulk metal foil resistors covered in a military specification. Mr. Ernst’s first step was conducting an engineering practice study to determine if the existing resistor chip specification, MIL-PRF-55342, could be modified to accommodate the new resistors. Through the study, it was determined that a new specification was the preferred way forward due to the differences between the current film and the new foil resistor technologies.

Mr. Ernst is the Defense Logistics Agency’s lead resistor expert and leader in this effort from the inception of the initial concept to the publishing of the documents. He led a working group consisting of members from NASA, the military services, The Aerospace Corporation, SAE CE-11 committee members, resistor manufacturers, and major original equipment manufacturers including Boeing and Raytheon. Andrew led the bi-weekly conference calls, organized the schedule, updated the draft documents after the meetings, and kept the program moving.

The new resistors will provide the military services, NASA, and the industry with reliable and extremely stable resistors needed for their missions. Military resistors have not been able to meet the extremely stable resistor requirements that are needed for precision applications. The new resistors will meet these needs and are expected to be utilized in many future military and NASA systems for many years.

Individual honor: Mr. Andrew Ernst